Osinbajo inaugurates 22-member National Council on MSMEs (FULL LIST)


Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo has inaugurated a 22-member council for Nigeria’s Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSMEs)

The Vice President is the chairman of the council and he held a photo session with those selected

The Small and Medium Enterprises Development Agency of Nigeria (SMEDAN) will stimulate, monitor and coordinate the development of the MSMEs

On Tuesday, April 25, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo inaugurated a 22-member council for Nigeria’s Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSMEs).

The ceremony which was held at the State House, Abuja, involved a photo session with members of the council which is called: Small and Medium Enterprises Development Agency of Nigeria (SMEDAN).

According to a statement by Laolu Akande, the spokesperson for the vice president, below is the full list of those selected to be on the council:

Vice President Prof Yemi Osinbajo with Hon Min. of State for Industry, Trade and Investment Aisha Abubakar, NASME - Prince Orimadegun Agboade and Hon Min of Information, Alh Lai Muhammed during the inauguration. Photo: Novo Isioro

  1. Honourable Minister of Industry Trade and Investment.
  2. Honourable Minister of State Industry, Trade and Investment
  3. Honourable Minister of Finance
  4. Honourable Minister of Mines and Steel Development
  5. Honourable Minister of Youth Development
  6. Honourable Minister of Communications
  7. Honourable Minister of Budget and National Planning
  8. Honourable Minister of Water Resources
  9. Honourable Minister of Power, Works and Housing
  10. Honourable Minister of Science and Tech.
  11. Honourable Minister of Agriculture
  12. Honourable Minister of Women Affairs
  13. Honourable Minister of Information
  14. Honourable Minister of State Ministry of Budget and National Planning
  15. CBN Governor
  16. The Chairman, Nigerian Governors Forum
  17. Economic Adviser to the President
  18. SA on MSMEs to the Vice President
  19. President MAN
  20. President NASME
  21. Director General SMEDAN
  22. The Vice President is the chairman of the Council

His Excellency the Vice President Prof. Yemi Osinbajo in a cross session photograph with the newly inaugurated National Council of MSME at the State House, Abuja. 25th April 2017. Photo: Novo Isioro

This will also include initiating and articulating policy ideas for small and medium enterprises growth and development; promoting and facilitating development programmes, instruments and support services to accelerate the development and modernization of MSME operations.

According to Premium Times, the agency also serves to help rural industrialization, poverty reduction, job creation and enhanced livelihoods, and links MSMEs to internal and external sources of finance, appropriate technology, technical skills as well as to large enterprises.

It will also improve access to industrial infrastructures such as layouts, incubators, industrial parks for small businesses in the country.

Meanwhile,  Reno Omokri, the former special adviser to ex-President Goodluck Jonathan on electronic media, has asked President Muhammadu Buhari to hand over to Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

Omokri’s advice comes hours after report filtered in that President Buhari, failed to attend the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting for the third time in three weeks.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here